Chicken Soup

Speaking of Nonny’s Dumplings, I thought I’d jot down how I make chicken soup.  This is a true guesstimate.  I don’t measure anything.

You’ll need a large pot for this recipe.  I chop a large onion up, throw it in the pot, and add several (probably 5) stalks of chopped celery.  Make sure to include the leaves.  They make it pretty.

Next, add a whole, cut up chicken.  Don’t forget to add the liver and gizzards from that little package that’s tucked into the bird….just throw out the little paper bag.

Now, add 5-6 whole allspice and 5-6 whole peppercorns.  Cover it all with water and bring to a boil.  Cook for 30 minutes, turn to low and simmer the rest of the day.  I like to add chicken broth during the process if I’m going to need quite a bit of soup.  I take out the chicken to let it cool once it’s quite soft.  Then, the soup can turn into whatever we’re in the mood for that day.  Sometimes I add rice.  Other days it’s a noodle soup.  If I use brown rice, I cook it separately before adding it into the pot.  Nonny’s Dumplings are a favorite.  And, if I just want broth on hand, I let just pour it into Mason jars and let it cool before putting it in the fridge to use during the week.

Occasionally, I add a few chopped carrots into the pot before cooking.  This is NOT one of Bubba’s favorites, so I try not to do it often.  The rest of us like it that way.  Rarely, I even add tomatoes about 15-20 minutes before serving for a change of pace.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

